Thread: Ice Rescue

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Ice Rescue

With the recent completion of a new reservoir in our district (right behind out station!) I have been tasked with putting together ice rescue capabilities in our department. I have zero knowledge about ice rescue, but can seek guidance from the county's volunteer rescue squad (which is currently our only solution for ice rescue). I was curious if anyone has a sample SOG they could provide and a list of necessary equipment.

Thanks in advance!

Forum Member

Get a few dry suits, a few reels 200ft of rope, a few pairs of ice picks that retract, ill try and find the proper name, a few pairs of flippers for cold water rescue, mask, snorkel, towels blankets reflective blankets. A loop which will be used to secure an unconscious person, ill find that out too.

This should help
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6cdK36uWjzA

Forum Member

And one of those Nebulus things. I would look at getting us one if we could justify it.
    Career Firefighter
    Volunteer Captain

-Professional in Either Role-

Quote Originally Posted by Rescue101 View Post
    I don't mind fire rolling over my head. I just don't like it rolling UNDER my a**.

MembersZone Subscriber

Attend a surface ice rescue class from Diver Rescue International.
    Do not exceed your level of training (awarness, operations, Tech)
    At this point your training is recognizing that there is someone on the ice, and call for back up.
    Drysuits are not the appropriate ppe for surface ice rescue. The Mustang ice commander is a far better choice. Get the training first!!! you will have the opportunity to try stuff out before wasting money.
    Right now the reach, throw, row are your options the "GO" rescue is reserved for the time you have the appropriate training and equipment.

By me almost everyone is at the tech level for surface ice rescue. Each engine and the heavy rescue have equipment for this.
    Mustang Ice Commander