Forum Member

Default Tips to stand out at oral board

I am taking my first oral board in a week and was looking for any tips or advice to help better prepare myself. I am a veteran and was able to attend many FF schools in Military. I am willing to take any advice. I would really appreciate it.

Thank you all

MembersZone Subscriber

I hope you've been preparing for this and a week's notice wasn't all you were waiting on to start.
    Either way, go to these:
    www.aspiringfirefighters.com
    www.eatstress.com

Good luck.
    Last edited by ffbam24; 11-22-2009 at 01:15 PM.

Forum Member

Actually the Department is moving very fas was notified friday for something 9 days later

Forum Member

The closest distance between you and the badge next week is getting married to a hand-held voice recorder that goes everywhere your car keys go. You need to hear what the oral board is going to hear out of your mouth. Using a voice recorder helps you get your timing, inflection, volume, where to cut out material, get rid of the an's uh's and other pause fillers and to find out if you really sound like Donald Duck.

Try this. Take 3X5 cards and write down your oral board questions. You can check out a sample list of possible oral board questions in this previous Firehouse.com article:

http://www.firehouse.com/forums/show...board+question (questions on oral board???????)

While Practicing your answers with a vice recorder if you hear something you do not like when you play it back, turn over the 3X5 card and write it down. The next time you go after that question, turn over the card first and see what you don't want to say.

You can find out more on using a voice recorder in this previous Firehouse.com entry level article:

http://www.firehouse.com/topics/care...ral-board-tool