Forum Member

Default SAFER question Federal Employees

Reading thru Safer guidance again on page 33 in section 4 item F leaves me a little confused.

"Federal employees arre prohibited from serving in any capacity (paid or unpaid) on any proposal submitted under this grant opportunity. Federal employees may not receive funds under this award."

Does this just reinterate that Federal Fire Departments are not eligible or is it saying in Recruitment and Retention I cant target trying to recruit volunteers from the local US Forest Service office? In fact if I work for the Social Security Administration in my regular paid job, but at night I'm a volunteer firefighter and grant writer for my local vollie dept, I am ineligible to do either of these things?

This is tripping me up a little.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by hinesfire View Post
    Reading thru Safer guidance again on page 33 in section 4 item F leaves me a little confused.

"Federal employees arre prohibited from serving in any capacity (paid or unpaid) on any proposal submitted under this grant opportunity. Federal employees may not receive funds under this award."

Does this just reinterate that Federal Fire Departments are not eligible or is it saying in Recruitment and Retention I cant target trying to recruit volunteers from the local US Forest Service office? In fact if I work for the Social Security Administration in my regular paid job, but at night I'm a volunteer firefighter and grant writer for my local vollie dept, I am ineligible to do either of these things?

This is tripping me up a little.
    I've read this a number of times and come up with the following conclusions/interpretations.

IMHO:

1) As an employee for SSA, you cannot work on the grant application.

2) You can still recruit volunteers that work for another federal agency, but they cannot recieve any of the benefits associated with an R&R program.