Forum Member

Default Jobs before Firefighting

Hey everyone. First I would like to thank everyone for making this a great resource for the aspiring firefighter. This is my first post, but I have learned a great deal on this website.

My question is pretty simple. What did you do before becoming a firefighter?

I recently finished up college with a BA majoring in finance... I now work in the finance industry, and think it's time to follow my true dream of becoming a firefighter.

I am going to start my EMT-B class at the local community college next quarter, but my current job hours conflict, so now I need to find something more suitable and something that will lend me valuable experience towards a firefighting career.

I know that being hired as a firefighter is extremely tough and competition is fierce. That being said, I am in this for the long haul, and am going to do whatever it takes to earn my badge.

After completing my EMT-B, I am looking in to working on a private ambulance. I have heard mixed thoughts about private ambulance, but I feel that this would be the best path for me to take, having no real firefighting experience.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for all that you guys do everyday.

Forum Member

Bull,

There are a lot of aspects to look at before you get too far as certain states, regions of the country having certain training/experience could help but it could also hinder you. For example. in KY here having a medical background in most places wont help you but I have a friend in TX that says anywhere if you want hired, the more medical background (having a Paramedic cert) puts you closer to the top.

Banned

I would say that if you want to be a fire fighter you should take fire fighting classes. If you want to work in the EMS field then take the EMT/Paramedic track.

MembersZone Subscriber