Forum Member

Default Middle aged rookie?

I am a 36 y/o professional...prior military experience. Have often thought of working as a fire fighter, but got married, had some kids...

A year ago I was involved in a serious car accident, and witnessed first hand what first repsonders do for us. The sacrifices they make. This experience has casued me to consider applying for a job with our local FD. Still a lot to resolve...will my current employer allow me to work as an FF?? Wife and family need to be pursuaded.

Anyone here started a career with the FD when they were in their mid-30's? What's it like? Are you a better candidate with more life experiences? Our local FD just graduated a 49 year old rookie...not sure if he didn't have prior FD experience though.

Any thoughts, guidance, encouragment would be appreicated!

MembersZone Subscriber

With your prior military service, I would say you'd have the mindset to handle the academy training and probie year. It's nothing more than what the drill sergeants did in basic. And frankly, most can't even get to you as much as a drill sergeant. Just remember to laugh with them at yourself and if you think of something to make it more fun at your expense, go for it. If you so them you can laugh and take a joke, it will last not nearly as long.