Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Can I work in U.S, Canada or Australia ??

Hi there,

I am a London Firefighter in the UK.
    I'm looking to move to the U.S, canada or Australia and woukd like to continue my career as a firefighter.
    Can I transfer over to either countries fire depts as a British firefighter ??
    I noticed on the forum there is an opportunity to do exchanges, but I'm looking for a permanent move..........Any help ??
    Stay Safe
    Anna

Quote Originally Posted by AnnaW View Post
    Hi there,

I am a London Firefighter in the UK.
    I'm looking to move to the U.S, canada or Australia and woukd like to continue my career as a firefighter.
    Can I transfer over to either countries fire depts as a British firefighter ??
    I noticed on the forum there is an opportunity to do exchanges, but I'm looking for a permanent move..........Any help ??
    Stay Safe
    Anna

Anna, welcome to the forums.

Most departments in the US require applicants to made an application, if selected to sit the written exam, do that and if you score high enough to take the physical (practical) exam you are invited to that part.

Most paid departments will get anywhere from 1500 to 4000 or more applications! Depending on the department, its size and turnover, some hired as little as 30 to 50 over the year or two the certificated list is good for while some may hire over 1000.

Having completed those steps, you have to score high enough over all to get an invitation for an interview and should you get past that step, you are sent for a complete medical physical and for the most part you can't fail any part of that. Then if everything is all good the department will hire you are a recruit firefighter and you will attend their local fire academy which may last 20 to 26 weeks!