Default FDNY hiring active Marine Reservists?

Hi, I'm an active duty Marine Officer. My end of service date mid 2012, and I was planning on taking the exam in 2011. Has anyone heard of recruits going through the academy as military reservists? Someone told me you can't be a reservist while you're at the academy, but you are allowed to be a reservist after you completed the academy. Now...that sounds pretty fishy because it just smells of "big ole lawsuit". The Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Act should cover that....any ideas?

Carrie

The Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 (USERRA, 38 U.S.C. §§ 4301 – 4335) is a federal law intended to ensure that persons who serve or have served in the Armed Forces, Reserves, National Guard or other “uniformed services:” (1) are not disadvantaged in their civilian careers because of their service; (2) are promptly reemployed in their civilian jobs upon their return from duty; and (3) are not discriminated against in employment based on past, present, or future military service. The federal government is to be a “model employer” under USERRA. See 38 U.S.C. § 4301.

MembersZone Subscriber

I do not have any first hand knowledge of this, but, other people I've known in similar situations talked to they're CO and got it setup that they can do drill time in advance so that while in the academy they would be free and clear. Takes some pre-planning but I'm sure it could be done. I would also call FDNY HQ and see if you can get some clarification on that as well. Good luck.

Forum Member

Thumbs up Reservist in the FD academy

Who ever told you that has NO CLUE what they are talking about......

Myself and others were and still are reservists during and after a training academy.