+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... Last
    Forum Member

Default Ala. City Wants FFs at Candle Services

I very seldom read something which makes me say "Are you serious?" I've been a firefighter for 25 years and don't recall this ever being a problem. Do they use road flares instead of candles in the churches down South?? And a full engine company on top of it. Someone try to enlighten me on this. Smart alec comments always welcome. Peace Brothers.

The Associated Press

Posted: Thu, 12/17/2009 - 01:06
    Updated: Thu, 12/17/2009 - 01:24 ..

HOMEWOOD, Ala. --

Churches in an Alabama city better count on a few extra guests at Christmas Eve candlelight ceremonies.

The Birmingham suburb of Homewood requires a permit and four off-duty firefighters to attend any service where candles are passed out to parishioners.

Fire Chief John Bresnan says the rule has been in place for 10 years, but many churches didn't know about it.

Pastor Sid Burgess of Edgewood Presbyterian Church says rule "does seem like overkill" and the cost of up to $400 to hire firefighters can be a lot for a small church.

The rule doesn't apply if ministers and other church leaders are the only ones handling the flames.

The fire chief says the rule is all about ensuring safety in crowded rooms with open flames.

Information from: The Birmingham News, http://www.al.com/birminghamnews

Forum Member

What are the off duty guys going to be able to do? Stomp on a small fire from a dropped candle? Can the church goers not do that? I wonder if the city recieves that 400 dollars, or if it goes to the firemen?
    FF/Paramedic

Forum Member

Hmm.....although - from the NYS Fire Code at least (modeled after the International Codes) -