Thread: Frustrated

Forum Member

Default Frustrated

I got news today that the department I've interviewed with twice has once again passed me over for a conditional offer. I've been working toward a FF/EMT job for almost 3 years now, have FF1, EMT-I (just passed NREMT test two weekends ago) and have 2 yrs of volunteer experience. Now granted I haven't had the best driving record or criminal record but it has been 5 years since my misdemeanor and 4 since my last driving infraction.

What frustrates me most is when I called HR today to see if they had made offers already and they said yes, I told them I want to make myself a better candidate and asked if I was recommended by the interview panel or if I hadn't. She told me she couldn't tell me where I fell short and that it is a "competitive process." No kidding?

I know that my past (5 years ago) may not be the best, but the mistakes I made, were made in college and I've grown up a LOT since then. I know I'm rambling a lot here and I apologize, but I'm just so frustrated and depressed right now. I think that I hit all the right points in the interview, I told them that this was where I wanted to start a family and a career and asked for the job at the end of the interview and then when I'm not offered the job and not given an insight as to why, it makes me wonder where I'm falling short and have no way to make myself a better candidate.

Is there any way to get to the bottom of why I wasn't offered a job? HR doesn't seem to know and I'm not sure where else to turn to find out answers. Any insight would be great. This is the career that I want. I LOVE EMS and riding the engine and am feeling like now that this opportunity is out, that there is no light at the end of the tunnel after feeling very confident that I would receive an offer this time around.
    Evan
    Firefighter/NREMT-B

MembersZone Subscriber