Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default "Pumper with CAFS"

Has anyone been successful this year or last applying under the category of "CAFS Pumper" or "Pumper with CAFS?"

I understand DHS takes the position that CAFS is not worthwhile, and I have been working for two years to replace a 1964 Engine for a never awarded department. There seems to be no reason to me that it doesn't hit.

Both times, I have applied under those categories and I am curious if that's been the fatal error.

Forum Member

I never knew that. That doesn't seem possible. You gotta be freakin' kidding me! I thought the CAFS was the stuff.

Talking

A neighboring dept scored for one a few years ago. 06 I believe. They used the argument of no municipal water system and very few dry hydrant water sources causing them to get behind the curve on scene at structure fires until mutual aid tankers arrived and got a steady water shuttle established.
    That first 15 minutes into the attack when you use up the water you brought with you and have to pull attack crews out while waiting for more water.
    a matter of FF safety and ability to go aggressively in interior attack versus standing outside and watching things burn with no water. CAFS doubles or triple your ability when used properly with a limited amount of first in water. All engines in this area carry 1000 gallons.

I'm not here to argue CAFS vs. no CAFS and I know that in the past they've been awarded. I'm curious if these drop down selections are what's causing my problem. Would selecting "Pumper" done me any better? (It seems silly, but you never know what the computer gods programmed!)

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by SLY4420 View Post