Angry Paycheck - Money Stolen From Station

Hey all, my first post but been here for awhile... I wanted to get everyone's opinion on this and how to handle it. I am a Paramedic in Texas at a hospital based EMS. Our station has three bedrooms... two for senior medics and a two bed bedroom for the "basics" on shift. To get to the story, Yesterday was payday and since our hospital does not have direct deposit I went to cash my check... After I cashed it I stashed it away in an envelope in my wallet. Around midnight that night we had a transfer and we stopped and ate at a restaurant... Money in envelope still there... went back to the station to go to sleep.. When I woke up in the morning while going to buy an energy drink I found that the envelope with all my Paycheck cash was gone... Nothing else is missing, and it is no where to be found... We have no cameras in our station, and as much as I feel terrible to accuse, all signs point to a thief... two days before Christmas! This is third time in about a year and a half that money has been stolen... and there does seem to be 2 or 3 common people involved... but again, no proof. I am dumbfounded at the situation and have no Idea to handle it... What do you guys think?

Forum Member

IMHO, with no conclusive proof to make a direct accusation, I'd turn it over to law enforcement. Even if you could embarrass or shame (or beat) someone into returning your $$$, what's to stop them from doing it again to someone else? With a history of multiple occasions, you are dealing with a person or perssons who should not be in a place of public trust. I don't want cops fighting fires, and we shouldn't be investigating thefts...
    "If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking."

George S. Patton

Forum Member

Let me get this straight. There were only a few on duty and the officer in charge didn't do a lock down?