Thread: Fogging Mask

Forum Member

Default Fogging Mask

Hi everyone! I'm a fairly new firefighter. I've been in EMS for many years, but finally ended up living in a place where I get to do fire too!

I have a MSA SCBA mask. Since my vision is pretty crappy, I also have the lens inserts, which I love. Yes, I know half the time in a mask you can't see anyways, but for all the other times, it makes a world of a difference.

Are there any tricks in helping prevent fogging of your mask? I've heard about Cat Crap defrogger, but haven't been able to find it. I also heard Rain-X works, but I'm not sure I want to put that stuff inside my mask where I'm breathing.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be much appreciated! Merry Christmas all.

MembersZone Subscriber

Use an old diver's trick.....spit in it.

Seriously, saliva (not a big yellow double yoker, just spit) and rub it around on the inside of the mask. DO NOT wash it out, just dry it out with a paper towel. When you clean it after a fire, after you rinse it, shake out as much water as you can but don't try it. Spit in it, rub it around, then dry it. It works!

Much cheaper than buying a bottle of stuff and having that build up over time. If you don't want to use that, be careful for what you buy, certain chemicals can eat away at the rubber guts of the mask over time.
    Jason Knecht
    Assistant Chief
    Altoona Fire Dept.
    Altoona, WI

IACOJ - Director of Cheese and Whine
    http://www.cheddarvision.tv/
    EAT CHEESE OR DIE!!

MembersZone Subscriber

Don't put your mask on until just before you need to. Purge it once then you should be good. Spittin is also good, I've done that a few times.

Savage / Hyneman 08'

Dish soap.

A drop or two on the inside of the mask, use a paper towel to smear it around and keep polishing until clear. The residue it leaves prevents fogging.