Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Getting a Ride-Along exception

Howdy....

I've been riding out with an ambulance service for around 2 years now (since I was around 13)...and just did my first couple of Fire ride-alongs...

my city does not normally allow people under 18 to ride-along but they have made a couple (2) exceptions that I have ever heard before...they were for a10 year old and 12 year old.

I am currently 15 and part of an explorer post.

I'm planning on sending an email to the assistant chief to see if he would be willing to make an exception...

any advice?

also, should I mention the other 2 people who were able to ride along?

thanks.

Forum Member

Advise -- dont send a email to your asst. chief ----- try talking to him in person --- second - when you do talk to him - dont spout a bunch of "advise" from a internet forum. Every situation is different -

Forum Member

Last edited by ColoradoDave; 02-12-2013 at 11:51 AM.

Forum Member

Well...I understand that. I will have to send it to the Fire Administration people and they will foward it to him.

talking to him is no possibility as I live in a big town...I seriously doubt he would have the time.

Forum Member

request it through your explorer post advisor, use the chain of command. it show not only respect but also show that you are mature enough to properly do things.

MembersZone Subscriber

It sounds like they keep underage ride-alongs to an extreme minimum. Be able to professionally and effectively justify/explain why they should violate policy (which is in essence what an exception is) to allow you to ride out with them.

I agree with RFD21C, approach through your Explorer post. Most likely they have connections that might make it more likely to get approved.