MembersZone Subscriber

Default Union or no Union

Hi

I work as a fulltime fire/medic for a service that went full time in 2006. I started in spring of 2008. right now we are not union but theres talk among fellow employees of going union. what kind of benefits are there from the union. I gotta say as of right now our pay and other benefits suck compared to surrounding communities. Also why would chiefs be so opposed to the union doesn't it help them too? one example is we get holiday pay which is time and half for 8 hours, because the other cities workers only work 8 hours so thats what we get even though we work 24. Just wondering if you can give me some insite thank you.

MembersZone Subscriber

I think you just answered your own question. It allows you as a group to collectively bargain for fair pay and benefits, and yes most of the time management will take offense to this but give it time they'll get over it.
    Last edited by TRUCK61; 01-03-2010 at 06:42 PM.

Forum Member

I'm assuming you're looking at the IAFF. The Union can offer a lot of things of benefit. Without knowing more about your work conditions and financial status of the community it would be hard to say that unionizing would automatically equate to increases in wages & benefits. That could happen, but having a collective bargaining agreement in place could also prevent negative changes in those areas.

The Union can also provide a lot of training resources for not only some operational things for the department, but a lot of stuff regarding the labor-management end of things to help guide you through various issues.