Thread: College...

Forum Member

Default College...

Hey Guys,
    My name is Adam and I am new to these forums. I am currently a student at Cincinnati State Tech and Comm College and I have a few questions that I could not think of a better place to ask. First off I started school in the Information Tech field which I am good at but I feel I would rather keep it as a hobby. I have decided to stop dumping my money into a lost cause. I have decided that I want to be a Firefighter. I have friends that are fireman, I practically spent my childhood in a fire dept. Heck even my Boy Scout Master is a Lt. at the local fire station. But anyway my real question is what is the most successful path to making my dream career a reality. I know many of you say its not for everyone and so on but I have decided its where i belong and I need the guidance of people who are already in the position I want to be in. My options it appears to me is A. Cincy States Fire Service Tech program (which certifies me as emt and firefighter II in Ohio) B. A local Vocational School Butler Tech which I have heard good things about and it gives the same certifications. I am just not sure what the smartest route would be. Thanks.

*Sorry For the word wall*

-Adam

MembersZone Subscriber

I don't know how things work or are in Ohio, but I'll give you the same advise I give aspiring firefighters around here.

First of all, get an education. If you need your FF I and I and EMT to get a job in Ohio, so be it. However, don't just forego a college degree. Even if it's an associates in general ed as opposed to fire science, work toward that degree. It's not going to hurt you later in life, and it's likely going to help during your career.