Forum Member

Default Paramedic cert. vs. Nursing School

Hello, I'm taking pre-requisite classes right now towards either getting into a Paramedic Program or a Nursing program. My ultimate goal is to be a career Firefighter but was curious if anyone out there had any input on which path to choose. I currently volunteer with a department, I have three seasons of wildland fire under my belt, and I have a four year degree. I would like to make myself as qualified a candidate as possible so I'm considering further schooling. I realize the medic cert might be more relevant, but a nursing degree would offer better job security and still provide an excellent opportunity for patient care. If anyone has any experience or advice in either of these fields I would greatly appreciate your feedback!!

Forum Member

Go nursing. Make about 3x as much as a medic your first year out of school. Volunteer somewhere as an EMT to get your fill, or get some ICU experience and then become a flight medic.

MembersZone Subscriber

If you want a career in firefighting, go to Paramedic school. You don't see very many FF/Nurse positions around. Closest you might get would be some sort of Life Flight or Critical Care Nurse.

I'd guess there are more opportunities out there for Nursing right now, so you probably stand a better chance of getting hired quickly. You'll probably start out making about the same (FF/EMT-P vs. Nurse), but you'll probably ultimately make more as a nurse, depending where you are located and if you specialize. Once you're hired, I'd say both positions are pretty secure. I would not suggest working for a civilian ambulance company as a Paramedic as most of those make very little.

Forum Member