Forum Member

Default Antidepressants / hiring

I'm currently an aspiring firefighter, still making my way through the earliest preparatory stages of seeking a badge. I know I have a long road ahead of me, and resources like this site have proven to be an invaluable starting point.

While I am physically healthy, my doctor has recommended that I take anti depressants to address some moderate depression. To be clear, my symptoms do not involve serious red flags like suicide or an inability to get out of bed in the morning: I'm trying to address some chronic insomnia and a persistent low mood. While I have no problem with taking medication for this, much as I would take antibiotics for an infection, or being straightforward and honest about my treatment if I make it to orals, I am curious about what kind of a reaction I might face. I'm assuming that I'll be expected to provide a complete medical history at some point and that such information would come out. Can I expect this to be a real hot button issue, one that I'm better off avoiding by not seeking treatment, considering that it is not disabling?

On a broader note, what are some general policies that departments have relating to active firefighters taking anti depressants? I can only imagine that the job gets tough sometimes, are there major repercussions for firefighters who seek ongoing treatment?

I found one link on the subject in a Google search I did which led me to an 8~ year old archived post on this forum, with a fairly vague set of responses. I did not find anything more recent searching specifically on these forums, so I figured I'd ask. I'm really not sure if I'm making a big deal out of nothing, but this is an issue with its own stigma attached so I wanted some clarification.

Forum Member