Forum Member

Default I want to go to Medic School but no money

Ok, I know there's lots of people who really want to go to medic school but can't afford it. I'm one of them. How can this happen? I'm working in the ER and also a Volunteer Ambulance company and I still can't afford to go. I live with my girl, have car payments, cell phones, house bills..etc. Even if I get a loan to pay for school I still can't afford not to work, who will pay my bills?
    There's no other way but to get hired on the fire dept and have them send me to Medic school. Will that affect my hire when they(board) see that I've been an EMT for 5yrs and I'm not a medic yet?

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by johnguillen68 View Post
    Ok, I know there's lots of people who really want to go to medic school but can't afford it. I'm one of them. How can this happen? I'm working in the ER and also a Volunteer Ambulance company and I still can't afford to go. I live with my girl, have car payments, cell phones, house bills..etc. Even if I get a loan to pay for school I still can't afford not to work, who will pay my bills?
    There's no other way but to get hired on the fire dept and have them send me to Medic school. Will that affect my hire when they(board) see that I've been an EMT for 5yrs and I'm not a medic yet?

Have you applied for financial aid?

www.fafsa.ed.gov

Forum Member

Go to school during the day and work in the ER on the nights and weekends.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by JMac73 View Post
    Have you applied for financial aid?

www.fafsa.ed.gov
    That's definitely a great first step.

In addition to Fafsa, there are scholarships, grant money, and state money available specifically for your state. Some of the federal/state grants and scholarships aren't even loans to pay back, just awarded. Look everywhere, or PM me your state and I'll help look. Fafsa is the first step though, and do it fast. The sooner you apply, the more money is still available.