Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Quote Originally Posted by RFD21C
    Usually the "gig List" has on it items such a broken or loose brackets, odd noises noted during operations, broken handles, cab doors that are hard to close/open, mirrors that are shaking and cant be tightened, leaking windows or cab doors, etc. The things that do not warrant removal from service. Usually it is up to the driver to check the gig list when we pick it up to see if these items have been fixed. Items that have not been fixed the officer will ask the shop about. Often times the shop is very busy and the mechanics are just trying to get the units back on the street. So the non-important items are not fixed.
    So the non-important items are not fixed.

As a mechanic, I guess I look at it at a different angle. If there is a problem, even with a window that won't roll up or down all the way, I will fix it. If a door or compartment door won't open or close easily, it will.

While all the above may be minor to your mechanics, I see a bigger picture. I know my FF's like to see everything working as they should. And with that, they know that I will do what I can to make sure that happens.

I have respect for what my FF's do, and anything I can do to make them happy or more comfortable, I will do. In turn, most of the stations I go to will offer me a pop or food for just being there. They appreciate that I will fix whatever is needed to make their job easier, or keep them from doing a change over.

There's a difference between doing your job with pride, and doing it to get a paycheck.

FM1
    I'm the one Fire and Rescue calls, when they need to be Rescued.

Quote Originally Posted by EastKyFF
    "Firemens gets antsies. Theys wants to goes to fires. Sometimeses they haves to waits."

Forum Member