Forum Member

Question Awaiting anything on vehicle grant submittal

I applied for a new tender due to the one that we have is getting even more dangerous on a daily basis. I have not seen anything(reduction, 1199, nada). I am having trouble keeping this thing on the road anymore. It was a lumber truck prior to being converted to a tender. It has hydraulic brakes that are getting more and more dangerous to drive, and has also had the frame broken and received a substandard repair(ie frame no longer straight). I know that I will be lucky to receive this grant due to our call volume is low. but my need for a dependable tender is very great. Is it possible to appeal to a higher court on this. I am scared to drive this vehicle much less anyone else, being a former mechanic. I am afraid that we will receive a dj on this grant. Does anyone have any suggestions they can throw my way? even other grant possibilities that anyone knows of may help me. I am still new to this grant game and dont really know where all to look for funding. any help will be greatly appreciated

Forum Member

If you dont get this grant, there is no higher authority to appeal to that I know of. Your dept might look into USDA-Rural Development grant. They possibly can loan out the remainder of the truck purchase to help keep your payment where you can handle.

Forum Member

Talking

First off: It is extremely early in the award process for the 09 AFG. Those with reductions and 1199's and 10 questions so far are the highest scoring apps in the matrix. No awards have been given yet. We all hope to see round 1 in the next week or so. Last years award rounds continued on into September.

Now to address the problem of your dangerous tender. PARK IT and tag it out of service before you or one of your members gets killed. I don't say this lightly as I know how hard it is to keep old trucks running and SAFE. Have you asked for funding from your town or district to replace this dangerous truck?