MembersZone Subscriber

Default A little help for a newbie

So I'm new to the world of grants. This past year our township cut our funding dramatically. No surprise i'm sure that's a common situation.What they did do was hire a grant writer. This person wrote several grants for the township and supposedly for the AFG one being for an ambulance, and one for the fire company for op's /safety . No one in the fire company saw the grant before it was submitted, (if it was submitted). My question is how do i verify this, and how do i access/ follow progress of this application assuming it was prepared properly.
    This professional has supposedly won awards for several fire depts. in our state and has given us info/advice that seems to be the opposite of many things I have read here.I am not saying he /she has done anything improper, I just feel that a representative from our dept, with our best intrest in mindshould be following and or reviewing this process. any help orr info would be greatly appreciated

MembersZone Subscriber

First off, I'm very skeptical of this grant writer. A good grant writer would have come to the department to find out what the department's needs were, not just write a grant; if in fact it was even done.

Couple of q's:

1) Is the fire department a municipal department of the township or a seperate entity?

2) They wrote a grant for an ambulance; for what agency?

The only option at this point is to have the Chief go to the grant writer to find out what was done and see if they will provide info on the grant. Unless the grant writer/township is willing to provide the User Name & Password you will have no ability to track the grant.

Forum Member

bugle started with a few questions, and once we learn the answers to those...we can fill you in on plenty of other issues that could arise depending upon your situation.

MembersZone Subscriber