MembersZone Subscriber

Default Alaskan Departments that are hiring

I've really been thinking about moving to Alaska. I've looked at several departments but most of the ones I talk to all seem to try to hire paid spots from within the volunteer ranks.

I currently work for the 3rd largest department in the nation and I have 6 years paid experience, all of them as a paramedic.

Any idea's on cities that are looking to hire or what not?

I know Anchorage is saying that they are supposed to have a test in 2010 but i'm not going to hold my breath
    The Box. You opened it. We Came...

"You'll take my life but I'll take your's too. You'll fire musket but I'll run you through. So when your waiting for the next attack, you'll better understand there's no turn back."

MembersZone Subscriber

http://www.911hotjobs.com/find-a-job...ls.asp?id=4004

Recruit Firefighter - Fairbanks, AK
    Closing Date
    3/1/2010

Description
    Under close supervision of Company Officers, performs entry-level work in the prevention and suppression of fires. Also serves as a medical responders on an ambulance crew.
    Assignments as a recruit firefighter on an assigned shift include, but are not limited to: responds to fires and other emergency scenes and renders emergency services as appropriate; participates in classes and drills to maintain proficiency; assists with inspection of buildings as assigned; provides public education through station tours and various other programs; performs equipment checks as required; performs station housekeeping maintenance; and other duties as assigned.

Requirements
    Persons applying for this position should have the following experience and/or training; Must be a High School graduate or equivalent; Applicant must be at least 18 years of age at time of application; Individuals must successfully pass a written examination and physical ability test;