Forum Member

Default Fill station advice

We should be getting an AFG grant for a complete fill station very soon and im asking for advice. We currently have nothing. Our scbas are 4500 psi 45 mon bottles with an hour RIT pack. We hae a total of 8 packs and 8 spare bottles. Space in a concern and I have been looking at a mini unicus from bauer just for that reason. Im new to selecting a unit and would like so help. We will need a single phase unit and I would like a complete contained double bottle fill cabinet with a fill panel. Mainly im confused on what brand how many cascade bottles and what size compressor.
    thanks

MembersZone Subscriber

You're going to get a lot of opinions I'm sure, but I'll share with you mine. My career department has a LOT more bottles to fill (4500 psi, 45- and 60-minute) and we utilize two different systems at two different stations.

The first one is a 4500 psi system with 8 bottles and a single-bottle station. I hate filling off this thing. You can only fill about three or four bottles before you have to start using another cascade bottle to get it above 4000-4200 psi. On this particular one, we only open one bottle at a time to fill off of. You start on the one closest to the fill station and move left. Once you equalize the SCBA bottle and cascade bottle, you shut off that cascade bottle and move to the next until you get the pressure where you want it.

The other is a four-bottle cascade, 6,000 psi, with a two-bottle fill station. This is the type of system I'd go with if I were you. The 6,000 psi bottles allow a lot more fills before you have to recharge the system. On this one we leave all four bottles open, mainly because they're behind the compressor and fill station and opening one at a time isn't an option. But, it's a moot point with the amount of air available. We can fill a lot of bottles with this thing before we start getting to the point we're down to 4,000 psi and need to recharge the system.

Forum Member