Forum Member

Default Christian Firefighters

I am currently an EMT student and a firefighter hopeful. I was curious to know if there are any christian firefighters who are able to attend services pretty regularly and also wanted to know how the time demands affect their spirtual lives. Would I be better off staying in the EMT-Paramedic department or would that not make any difference on how often I'd be able to attend church and what not?

MembersZone Subscriber

You'll be on a shift schedule and probably won't be able to attend services while you're working. You may be able to trade some days off, but don't expect to have every day off you need. If you're in a large department, you might be able to get a chaplain to come in and conduct a service for a group of guys, but if you get a call, that's got to come first. Especially when you're new, you'll end up working holidays if they fall on your shift.

If this isn't something you won't be able to live with, consider a volunteer or part time position.

Forum Member

Are there many part time opportunities out there? From what my EMT instructor made it sound like, it really seemed like volunteer and part time are a lot less common these days.

MembersZone Subscriber

It depends on your area. Large cities, not so many. But smaller cities and rural areas you may luck out. Depending on the union, some cities may use paid on-call to cover days off. Your instructor is probably familiar with your area, so he/she would probably be able to help you out some more. If they can't give you a definitive answer, contact a local fire department and ask the training people if they know of any local ones.

Also, check into any volunteer departments in the area. Sometimes they'll hire people full time during the day when most of their volunteers are at work.

Forum Member

MembersZone Subscriber