Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Really interested in getting into this..

My names Jake, from Tampa
    Im 20 yrs old, married, might have a kid on the way not sure yet tho.
    I graduated high school in 07, my dad got me a job at the company he worked for, i worked there for 2 years and they got bought out and i got laid off.
    Iv been in and out of nowhere jobs for the last year, never been fired or quit just laid off everytime something gets going. I tried to get into the Army, that didnt work out because my recruiter was to slow in getting some medical waiver and then they changed there policy at the last minute.
    So im stuck at this point and i want to do something with my life, im tired of trying to find a job day after day and getting nowhere.

Iv been reading up a little bit on what it takes to do this and im very interested.
    What all do i have to do and where do i go? How long does it take? I started now could i find myself in a job within a year or so?
    And based on the little information i gave about my situation is this a good decision for me?

Any information or suggestions you guys have would help me out alot.
    6lkl6l is online now Report Post Edit/Delete Message

Forum Member

First you need to go through EMT. It is one semester long and is offered by HCC and FMTI. After that is fire school, which is also offered by HCC. Fire school lasts around 4 to 6 months depending on whether you go to the full time academy or part time. St. Pete College also does the fire academy. At this point you will be able to start applying for jobs, as you can get hired on as a FF/EMT with the requirement of becoming a paramedic within a certain time frame after employment. Paramedic is offered by both HCC and FMTI. It is a year long program. As far as costs go, I'm not sure what has changed but you are probably looking at a total investment of at least $7,000 for all three classes.