Forum Member

Question Reinstatement from disability retirement

I was hoping someone can help me out. I was a career-conditional firefighter at a base in PA and I suffered a seizure just shy of my one year anniversary. At the time they did'nt have any other positions for me so I had to go on disability retirement.

I was told at the time that once 5 years passed (because I was taking medicine) that I would be able to return under reinstatement eligibility. Now as I look for jobs, the definition of reinstatement eligibility is "within 3 years of separation".

I can't get a straight answer from OPM. Has anyone had any experience with anything like this or worked with someone who went through the same problems when trying to return to work? I'm not sure what to do next.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Andy View Post
    I was hoping someone can help me out. I was a career-conditional firefighter at a base in PA and I suffered a seizure just shy of my one year anniversary. At the time they did'nt have any other positions for me so I had to go on disability retirement.

I was told at the time that once 5 years passed (because I was taking medicine) that I would be able to return under reinstatement eligibility. Now as I look for jobs, the definition of reinstatement eligibility is "within 3 years of separation".

I can't get a straight answer from OPM. Has anyone had any experience with anything like this or worked with someone who went through the same problems when trying to return to work? I'm not sure what to do next.
    You need to post this question on DoDfire.com Oh, and I hope to god you have that "5 years" statement in writing, otherwise, I rather suspect you are fooked.
    Last edited by FWDbuff; 02-02-2010 at 10:45 PM.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member