Forum Member

Default locating devices?

Hello,

I am a student and I have a project to design something that will help locate firefighters in disaster situations. I知 wondering what sort of locating devices you carry/use, how you carry them, and what you like/dislike about them. I知 also looking for any other input about what you might like to see in a locating device or concerns you may have. I appreciate you taking the time to respond. Thank you!

Alex

Forum Member

Google P.A.S.S. Device....
    Courage, Being Scared to Death and Saddling Up anyways.

Forum Member

Scott sells a radio beacon tied into the PASS alarm. They sell it under the brand name Paktracker

What isn't out there is a similar type product for wildland firefighters.

MembersZone Subscriber

Almost every structural firefighter uses a PASS or similar. There are some options out there that use GPS to locate a FF, but the problem they have is sat reception inside a building. There are some others out there with different technology, but many of them are so new they are still quite pricey. Some even monitor vitals and report that back to the IC.

Whatever you work on, make it small and lightweight and firefighter proof. It should turn on automatically and probably needs to be incorporated (or replace) the existing PASS in order to be desired. Long battery life (at least 6-8 hours actively running) and months in standby. Also, it should do what it can to not snag on any wires or anything else.

Good luck with your project.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by kd7fds View Post
    Scott sells a radio beacon tied into the PASS alarm. They sell it under the brand name Paktracker

What isn't out there is a similar type product for wildland firefighters.
    Ya there is its Called S.A.

Banned

Quote Originally Posted by alex120 View Post
    Hello,