Forum Member

Default Need advice for ride alongs from medics!

I am starting to do ride alongs with a nearby ALS service this saturday, the last time i did one I was an in class EMTB student. I've been operating in the field for 6 months on a BLS service where it is pretty easy to take control of the situation for the most part. What I need is some advice on handling calls with 2 Paramedics and me(the basic). Should I await orders from them or how shall I operate without stepping on their toes (I need to make a good impression since I would like this to be my future employer). PLEASE help!
    Last edited by FireEMT712; 02-03-2010 at 06:55 PM.
    Firefighter/EMT 712
    NREMT
    Gifford Fire And Rescue
    6 month Probie
    Medic Student

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by FireEMT712 View Post
    I am starting to do ride alongs with a nearby ALS service this saturday, the last time i did one I was an in class EMTB student. I've been operating in the field for 6 months on a BLS service where it is pretty easy to take control of the situation for the most part. What I need is some advice on handling calls with 2 medics and me(the basic). Should I await orders from them or how shall I operate without stepping on their toes (I need to make a good impression since I would like this to be my future employer). PLEASE help!
    Ask them what they would like you to do.
    "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." -- Benjamin Franklin

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by MarcusKspn View Post
    Ask them what they would like you to do.

What he said. BTW if a paramedic or a cardiac tech is on the bus you aren't going to take anything over. They will tell you what they want. You are a visitor in their operation.

Forum Member

Removed, miss communication.
    Last edited by FireEMT712; 02-03-2010 at 06:55 PM.
    Firefighter/EMT 712
    NREMT
    Gifford Fire And Rescue