MembersZone Subscriber

Default Dept. Coordinated Computer Training

Brothers and Sisters:

I have been tasked as a training officer for my department to attempt to find a way to utilize my municipalities computer system to deliver certain training topics via our intranet. This is in an attempt to save money on the cost of using an outside vendor for topics and the ability to tailor the training topics to our policies and response intricacies. I'm trying to cut to the chase to see if any of you have software you have used to set up such training within your departments. Basically I want to be able to post powerpoints and some other training topic medias for viewing and then have a quiz at the end of the unit that self checks the answers and assigns a score.

I know there is something out there somewhere and hoping by using the forum I can find a few of you that have it and can't point me in the right direction. I have seen this type of training when I was a federal firefighter assigned to a VA hospital campus and we had certain topics required for hospital employees and it was high effective.

Any input would be great and all I ask is that the input be towards self delivered content...not any other internet training vendors as we have utilized one for the past 2 years with great success but are wanting as stated to cut costs for staffing and equipment reasons.

Thanks!
    Tom

MembersZone Subscriber

I know locally my cable provider allows our local government "Public Access" on two channels. maybe hey would provide your a secure channel for viewing at fire stations only. Get together with your local LE (city PD, SO,..) and EMS to see if as a group you could gain time. Then use a simple real time database to administer tests via the internet.
    Just a thought.

Forum Member

I am exploring the same thing. I am going to solicit quotes to add a "classroom" back-end to our website. I will be interested in any responces others have.

Forum Member

ALS