Forum Member

Post academy vs. medic school

hey everyone i got a question about my education. I am only 19 and I have been an emt for almost a year now. I want to go to medic school but I still know that I need to get an academy done as well. What would you guys out say is probably the better option for me right now. Suggestions?

Thank You

MembersZone Subscriber

Depends on what your area requires. If you stand a good chance to get hired now and the dept will work with you when you go to medic school in the future, I'd say get started now (pay and getting into the retirement system now would benefit you HUGE by the time you retire). Plus, some depts will pay for some or all of the cost of medic school, which is expensive.

If you realistically need to be a medic in your area to get hired, then that decision is obvious.

MembersZone Subscriber

Some volunteer departments have free in-house firefighter 1 training. You could take that route and then get your medic afterward. Be careful with that though since some departments have pretty shoddy programs. Community colleges are the best route for both Fire and medic certs, but can be expensive.

Forum Member

Here medic is the Golden Ticket. A lot of Dept will hire you as a Medic and put you thru the academy.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by JMac73 View Post
    Here medic is the Golden Ticket. A lot of Dept will hire you as a Medic and put you thru the academy.
    Same around here, you have to be a medic to sit for most tests.
    Andy

IACOJ

MembersZone Subscriber

Where I come from out in Washington, medic is also a golden ticket in the fire service. There were a lot of departments (including my own) that wouldn't hire you if you weren't already a medic.