Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 12 123411 ... LastLast
    Forum Member

Default Guess it's better than getting laid off

The result for the FD will be the same. Less FF's. I can fully appreciate the need for manpower in the DOC. But stripping from the FD will just make both departments be inadequately staffed.

So who wants to be there is no less than a handful of municipal employees that serve no purpose whatsoever and their job is totally meaningless and pointless... that still have a job.
    Even the burger-flippers at McDonald's probably have some McWackers.

MembersZone Subscriber

I worked as a Sheriff's deputy for several years, and I still see from time to time persons I have arrested or investigated. It have gotten tense on occasion.
    This will be a bad thing in the long run I believe. You are on shift and are dispatched to a call. Someone you dealt with at the Sally port is on scene, and he recognizes you. Whether you did that person wrong or not he takes issue with you. You could be in a very bad position. 1 or 2 fire fighters and a person, and maybe his\her friends, with attitude. This could get ugly to say the least.

The FD will still be short staffed but at least the laid off FF's won't be in the unemployment line, at least for now. I bet they are not happy about it but at least they still have a paycheck.
    Jason Knecht
    Assistant Chief
    Altoona Fire Dept.
    Altoona, WI

IACOJ - Director of Cheese and Whine
    http://www.cheddarvision.tv/
    EAT CHEESE OR DIE!!

Banned

The fire fighter positions are going to be cut either way. Difference is, they will have jobs instead of being unemployed. This is a win win for all. The fire fighters get jobs, the residents don't have a tax increase, and the city balances its budget.

Quote Originally Posted by ScareCrow57 View Post