Forum Member

Default Overweight student

Ok so here is the deal, I am currently a student at a local community college. I am 6'0 and i weigh 238 pounds. I am clearly out of shape. I am a husky build like my father who is in good shape but still looks like a big guy. My problem is next quarter I'm trying to become a fire cadet. I wanted to this quarter but A I know I'm not in shape, I mean I looked over the agility test and I know I can pass it but still. B Paperwork was still being processed when the 20 avail. slots filled. My real problem is for the last two months I have been trying to lose weight and have not lost a single pound. I count calories (Eat less than 2100 a day) and my BMI says I would have to eat 3500 a day and be a couch potato to maintain my weight. But I lift weights and do cardio for a couple hours a day 3 or 4 days a week but I have not seen a single change. I feel like this is truly the only thing holding me back. I know no FD is going to hire some overweight 20 year old when there are people more physically fit trying for the same job. I was hoping that some of you may know how to remedy my situation perhaps tips or hints that could possibly help me out.

Note: National Avg for my Height/Age/Build is 204 which seems unachievable at this rate.

MembersZone Subscriber

Don't give up. It will come with time, and hard work. And remember, muscle weighs more than fat.
    Stay Safe
    Bull

“Guys if you get hurt, we’ll help you. If you get sick we’ll treat you. If you want to bitch and moan, then all I can tell you is to flick the sand out of your slit, suck it up or get the hell out!”
    - Capt. Marc Cox CFD

Nothing in life is so exhilarating as to be shot at without result.
    -WINSTON CHURCHILL

MembersZone Subscriber

Duplicate post...
    Last edited by zzyyzx; 02-07-2010 at 07:47 PM.

MembersZone Subscriber

First, I hate BMI and "national averages." They seldom seem realistic.