Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Firefighters and back surgery

Hey everybody, not sure if this is the appropriate forum for this but really need a little help. I'm a firefighter, in middle of my career, with IOD herniated disc that looks like it's going to surgery. I'm having an ACDF with hardware on C6-7. I'm just trying to find any firefighters who have successfully returned to the job after a fusion in their neck. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Wish me luck!

Quote Originally Posted by slocityhoseman View Post
    Hey everybody, not sure if this is the appropriate forum for this but really need a little help. I'm a firefighter, in middle of my career, with IOD herniated disc that looks like it's going to surgery. I'm having an ACDF with hardware on C6-7. I'm just trying to find any firefighters who have successfully returned to the job after a fusion in their neck. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Wish me luck!

I did, after I broke my back. Mine was from L4 to S1. Several disc were damage as well with the vertebras broke in several places.

I was off from September 1997 to July 1998. Feel better than I ever did!

Forum Member FireCapt1951retired's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by slocityhoseman View Post
    Back in the early 90's I was caught in a chimmney collapse that crushed the the discs between the C3-4, C4-5 and C5-6. I had all 3 fused and a titanium plate screwed in. It only took me 9 months to get back on da job. The only problems I had related to this was how far I could turn my head to the left and right (minimal) and some spasm's (apparently my body didn't like the plate) but other than that I felt great and lasted another 12 years. The only advice I would give is to find a GREAT, TOP OF THE LINE Neuro-surgeon. Take care of yourself and follow the regiment to the letter and you should be good to go.

MembersZone Subscriber

Angry Nfpa 1582