MembersZone Subscriber

Default FL Firefighter interested in FDNY

Hi, Im a firefighter in central Florida and I have a few questions regarding the FDNY. If anyone can help please respond. I am extremely interested in applying, however, Im not from New York, so I need a few answers before I can make a true decision in the odd case that I do get called back.

Can you work for the fire department full-time and for EMS part-time? How exactly does the schedule work? Is living in the area manageable at all with FD pay? What is average rent for a decent 1-bedroom apartment? How many working fires average per week per station? Are there areas that get very little fire (1-2 a year workers)? How common are high angle rescues? etc...

I know these can seem very particular, but please understand that it is a huge decision that could possibly affect me for the next 20+ years of my life. One last thing: If I go visit a station, which one should I go to to get some good advice on this (a very average station call volume wise)? Thank You I appreciate all feedback.

Forum Member

You didnt happen to attend CFCC in 2004-05 did you?

I have some answers for you- we'll get to that- but youre opening a can of worms big enough to swim laps in.
    To Persist is to Conquer.

MembersZone Subscriber

no Im actually from Miami, moved up for the job

Forum Member

So goes the 6 degrees of separation...

In order you asked them:

1. No. You can work for one or the other only, and its full time only. Thats assuming your talking about working for the city, and not any private entity.
    2. "The area" is debatable. Can you live (comfortably) on an entry level salary if you work in the South Bronx? Yeah. But you wont want to. And if your area is Soho, then the answer would be no. There is a comfortable medium in there somewhere though. Its a big city, and you can always take on roommates (and/or a second job) to ease the burden.
    3. Look at craigslist and see for yourself.