Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default got some questions can anyone help?

hey everyone, im a firefighter fresh out of fire academy and in a paramedic course at texas A&M had a few questions wondering if anyone can help me out.

i recently received a public intoxication... stupid i know but i am wondering if anyone know if its goin to affect my chances of getting on a fire station.

MembersZone Subscriber

Welcome ROGO.
    It may affect your hiring status if you are expected to drive a department vehicle. Have you gone and talked with the local prosecutor? Many times they will agree to reduced charges for first time DWI, if you meet certain requirements like, completing a substance abuse classes, completing a defensive driving course, or just plead guilty to a lesser charge. Not saying this will hapen but it has been known to happen.
    Good luck.

Forum Member

from what i gathered its a class c Misdemeanor its the equal to a traffic fine but since its involved with drinking i was a little worried about it, i've talked to some police officers and said that they have had other fighters arrested for the same thing but i think were already on a station or something.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Acklan View Post
    Welcome ROGO.
    It may affect your hiring status if you are expected to drive a department vehicle. Have you gone and talked with the local prosecutor? Many times they will agree to reduced charges for first time DWI, if you meet certain requirements like, completing a substance abuse classes, completing a defensive driving course, or just plead guilty to a lesser charge. Not saying this will hapen but it has been known to happen.
    Good luck.

If it was public intoxication, then there is no DWI issue of driving course needed. No vehicle was involved.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by WD6956 View Post