Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: My chances

Forum Member

Question My chances

i have so many questions its not even funny and ive figured out a lot during the fire explorer program i was in just over a year. Well lets begin with a little about my self. I am 18 about to turn 19 in a few months. i graduated in 2009, and the day after graduation i began my emt and completed it. Last fall and this spring i have been taking all my fire classes and at the end of this semester i will have my fire cert and looking to forward to completing my general ed by the beginning of 2011. I already have obtained by Hazmat fra and fro. Soon i will be getting certified in confined spaces and swift water, and a few others just to better my chances in the hiring process. I don't mind where i get hired just as long as i get the job i love. I was considering the military after talking to a few people about it. My step dad is always pushing me toward the military since he is a LCDR in the navy. I am still open to anything since i am still young i just want to get into the FD and stick with it. I know what i takes to make it and i am willing to do just about anything and push myself to the limits to make it and i know i will.

i know the average age of those who are accepted in the San Diego fire academy are 23-25. Are there any city which are looking for younger candidates?

I was considering doing wildland for a good experiace and a paycheck so i can help out my family with the bills during these tough times. i want to get a seasonal or full time paid position somewhere asap. Which is the best route?

Looking forward to hear what you all have to say thank you all for your advice and very much appreciated.

MembersZone Subscriber

Ever since the economy tanked, more and more people are changing careers and applying for civil service jobs, particularly fire, police, and EMS. There's a whole lot of competition out there, and a drastic slowdown in hiring.