Forum Member

Question I just graduated from a fire academy.

I have allot of certs and state EMT but not national reg yet. Im looking for some advice to help me get off my feet in the fire service. Im not really sure where to start out, should i volunteer or apply for city and cal fire dpts? keeping in mind that i have no fire experience other than through my FF1 academy i feel like my chances of getting a job right out of the academy are slim to none. Any advice would be great. Thanks.

Forum Member

what state are you in

MembersZone Subscriber

I would do EMS work for a while or join a volunteer fire dept. Probably the best thing you can do is get some EMS experience, say a year or two (many people will say more than that) and go to paramedic school. The fact is medics are getting jobs a lot faster than EMT's. Joining a volunteer dept would get you some great training and experience if you can find one that's fairly busy. Just my 2 cents. Good luck bro.

MembersZone Subscriber

yes, get experience. remember ems is a large part of the business and you need to be good at it. volunteering is good to if it is a department that trains well and works hard. if you can find a place that will send you to more classes for more certs that just betters you.

remember that in this job you are a life long learner so find a place that allows you to develope and better yourself.

Forum Member

Here is the plan I put together for my son in law. I think it might help point you in the right directon.

Basic Fire Academy –
    The basic fire academy is required by MANY departments just to take the entry level exam. For the departments that do not require it, they normally hire people who have completed one excluding the following (paramedic, military experience, affirmative action goals)