Forum Member

Question How should I act on a ride-along?

Howdy. I'm new to Firehouse and the forums here. However, I've read them for a long time and have decided to sign up now. I'm an explorer with a large career fire department here in the great state of Texas and I'm scheduled to do my "first" ride-along this Sunday.

To give you an idea about my "experiences" so far...I'm 16 and I've been riding with a private EMS service for about 1 year now. The ambulance is based in a career fire department's station and the EMS guys don't really talk/interact too much with the fire guys. I've learned a bunch on the ambulance and have started to help out more (taking vitals, etc). However, I have NEVER done a ride-along on a fire apparatus.

I'm going to be riding out on an engine and I'm just here looking for some tips/advice to make it go as smooth as possible. So...here goes my long list of questions...

1. On my EMS ride-alongs, I usually bring some food like cookies...or a dozen or so donuts, etc, to show my appreciation for letting me come out and ride with them. I'm assuming that would be a good idea for a fire ride along, eh?

2. Our explorer post wants us to "GET IN THERE" (so to speak) on our ride-alongs and help clean, cook, etc. On my EMS ride-alongs...I usually stick with the EMS guys and they don't do...anything at the fire house (they just hang out in the living room). I'm kind of shy (at first) when dealing with people...especially firefighters (hah!). So...what are some good ways to ask for help? Should I just pick up a broom and have at it? What if they each have a specific role?

3. For cooking: To give you some sort of idea how great I cook...I use the smoke alarm as a indicator for when my food is ready. How can I volunteer to help cook without turning the food into a solid, burnt, non-edible mass?

4. What are some good ways to introduce yourself and get to know the FF's? Like I said earlier...I'm kind of shy.