Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: My classes

Forum Member

Default My classes

Hey guys,
    I'm currently an EMT-B and i'm trying to decide which step to take next. I can start my EMT-P class this June ending next June, and its 1 day a week, saturday, from 9am-9PM (long I know but frees up a lot of time). Then I could take my fire academy this fall...but that would mean my schedule would be

M-F Academy 8am-5pm
    Sat- Paramedic course 9am-9pm
    Sunday-off

Would that be an overload do you think? I kinda feel like I would be able to do it, but just looking for any opinions from people who have completed them already.

Otherwise, I have to decide between taking my academy this fall and THEN starting my EMT-P course, or starting my EMT-P this summer and not doing the academy until Fall 2011.
    Last edited by jcorey1; 02-27-2010 at 07:22 PM.

Forum Member

I know some guys who have done both plus the rigors of a full time job working the midnight shift. Cowboy up and get it done. If there is a will, there is a way

MembersZone Subscriber

If you're going to do that route, make sure you're a strong student and you have good study skills. If you can get the academy books a couple months ahead of time, I"d read through them a few times so you're not learning everything from scratch. Even with just the academy, most of our guys get done with the official training around 5, study until 8 or 9 and then get some sleep before they were up at 5 again the next day. We averaged at least one chapter test each day, plus lecture, plus practicals and the PT session.

And obviously, medic school is a LOT of information. How much EMT-B experience do you have? Usually, you'll do a lot better in medic school if you've been a strong EMT-B for a bit. But there are always exceptions to that.

Good luck!