Forum Member

Default Kris from Minnesota

Hi,

Just thought I'd join this forum to ask some questions.

I have a son who is just wrapping up his first year in college and he has decided he does not want to go back.

He is just wanting to go get a job, yet I think he should explore other career fields that don't necessarily require 4 year college degree.

That said, I've suggested that perhaps he should check out a career in Fire / Rescue or EMS. Of course there is still training and schooling required but it would be more hands on work relevant to the career vs. being book deep in various classes that he'll never use again in his life.

Myself, I am a basic emt of almost 20years. Been on mostly rural volunteer services and have found it very fulfilling.

Just wanted to say Hi and looking for folks who would be willing to share their thoughts/perspectives on young persons quest to pursue a career in this field?

Forum Member

You don't indicate where you are located. Firefighter jobs are getting scared, as a lot of city's, county's are having their budget cut and the fire department are one of the departments that suffer. Having to cut the members or close some companies is very painful not to say that the citizens suffer the most.

There are some areas in the US that have "fire training academies", that individuals can attend something like college and if they pass all the courses and are certified, this helps them getting hired by department which require a certification up front. Not saying he would walk right in the front door and start riding the truck, but the certifications would help him in the process of being hired.