Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    Forum Member

Default firefighter exchange program, Ireland

Hi,

I am an irish fulltime firefighter

If you are interested in a 12 month exchange, and you are bringing with you a small family (wife 'n a few kids) then maybe our jobs AND our homes will be compatible.

A few points:
    • I thought originally that your spouse would struggle to obtain a visa to work (at least to work officially). But i checked immigration and if you were successful in your exchange application both you and your spouse (or girlfriend / boyfriend) would be given a visa too
    • I would consider most places (USA, Canada, Oz, NZ et al), especially somewhere within reasonable distance to a ski slope! eg CO, USA. My wife is from NY upstate and we would go there too(saratoga springs) If you like surfing, countryside, easy laidback living, great place for kids, and the odd night out in the town then you will like this place. (also on the doorstep of an airport and cheap flights to many european destinations)
    • You need to be fulltime and experienced for at least four years.(this is an exchange rule, not mine)
    • I am not looking to exchange right away - prob ready to move 2012, it takes ages (apparently) to organise an exchange among two fire departments - as well as taking kids from school etc etc so i am posting this early.
    • you PROBABLY will not have to go through probey school again, i am trying to negotiate that your experience will mean you can learn the differences in procedures, scba etc etc, "in-house" and be fully operational in about two weeks (i know that sounds attractive!)

so if you are interested email me

craicmac@yahoo.ie

thanks
    mac
    Last edited by uiscemac; 06-02-2010 at 07:46 PM. Reason: EMAIL ADDRESS

Worldwide Menace

I've heard of career exchanges like this, but have never seen it happen for anyone within the United States. Best of luck though!

-Damien

Forum Member

Cheers damien,