Forum Member

Default Scanner problems

I am fairly new to my volunteer department and was given a motorola minitor ii scanner. It worked fine for about a month, but the battery died (turns out the first battery I was given was 10 years old). It just died again last night while being charged. The light on the charger is lit up, and appears to be working fine. It is not turning on, even after being in the charger for over 10 hours. Does anyone know what is wrong with it, or have any ideas?

Forum Member

Take the battery out and put it in the charger to see if the pager works. If it works, then its the battery, if it does not work, you have a problem with the pager itself.

Forum Member

The pager is not going to work in the charger without a battery. So that won't help him.

Your second battery is probably also toast, or the charger is bad. Try a new one of each and see what fixes it.
    Even the burger-flippers at McDonald's probably have some McWackers.

Forum Member

i had one like that and my charger would not charge the battery in the pager, so i took the battery out and put it in the battery only charger and the pager still worked.

Forum Member

Easiest thing to do would be to bring it back to your department and see if you can trade it for a new one or they can further assist you since it is their equipment.

Forum Member

The Motorola II's are just about gone. As I understand there are no more parts being made for them. Tell 'em if they want you to respond, they better give you something that works.

Above all don't go buy one yourself.
    I am more than just a serious basketball fan. I am a life-long addict. I was addicted from birth, in fact, because I was born in Kentucky.
    ― Hunter S. Thompson

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by lvfd2167 View Post
    i had one like that and my charger would not charge the battery in the pager, so i took the battery out and put it in the battery only charger and the pager still worked.