Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Academy Training (Stairs)

Hi all,

I'm trying to get into the local college for the basic firefighting program (NFPA level 1 and 2), and I'm getting some very contradictory training advice. I was hoping someone here might have an opinion they'd be willing to share.

Right now, I can't do much - I'm a full time undergrad student, with a pretty harsh course load, so I fit in what I can. I typically run stairs MWF before classes (about 80 stories (20 x up and down a 5 story building) in 40 minutes, w/ turnout jacket / pants and heavy boots), swim TThSa (about 40 lengths, or 1 km, in about 45 minutes), and go for runs in the evening whenever I get a chance (maybe 3 or 4 times a week, again in turnout gear/boots, 5-10km walking/running). Going to the gym to workout hasn't happened much lately, but hopefully I can get back into that in the next little while.

The college has a physical trainer that normally gives advice - unfortunately, they aren't running a class this winter, and so he isn't around, and no one else wants to offer advice due to liability (its amazing how scared we all are of getting sued).

The volunteer fire dept. a few towns over gave me what I'm doing now - that is, wear as much gear as I can, to get used to the weight and (mostly) heat, use a weight vest when I get to that level, and run stairs as much as I can.

The University's personal trainer didn't take well to that advice - I've actually been banned from the gym for trying to use a weight vest or wearing turnout gear. They say that using any body weights when running, doing stairs, etc is dangerous, pointless, and stupid. That includes ankle weights, weight vests, wrist weights, or even carrying dumbbells or a backpack while running on the track.

So, what do I do? Keep running with gear, adding weight as I can? Or drop the gear, drop all weight, and do interval training on the track?