Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default International Firefighter exchange to Ireland

This is a copy of threads i posted in the general forum area but maybe i would have more luck in the canadian section:

Hi,
    I am an irish fulltime firefighter , working and living in west ireland.

If you are interested in a 12 month exchange, and you are bringing with you a small family (wife 'n a few kids) then maybe our jobs AND our homes will be compatible.

A few points:

*a visa would be made available for your spouse while in ireland - should you both want to work. if you are interested in asking for yourself the immigration/naturalisation dept email address is visamail@justice.ie )

* I would consider most places USA, Canada, Oz, NZ et al. I would probably prefer Canada or USA, Its that bit closer to home(, especially somewhere within reasonable distance to a ski slope! ). My wife is from NY upstate and we would go there too(saratoga springs) If you like surfing, countryside, easy laidback living, great place for kids, and the odd night out in the town then you will like this place. (also on the doorstep of an airport and cheap flights to many european destinations)

* You need to be fulltime and experienced for at least four years.(this is an exchange rule, not mine)

* I am not looking to exchange right away - prob ready to move 2012, it takes ages (apparently) to organise an exchange among two fire departments - as well as taking kids from school etc etc so i am posting this early.

* you will not have to go through firefighting school again, i am trying to negotiate that your experience will mean you can learn the differences in procedures, scba etc etc, "in-house" and be fully operational in about two weeks (i know that sounds attractive because some exchanged firefighters are expected to go through firefighting school - something i would be prepared to do to make the exchange work and to learn as much as possible)