Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default exchange opportunity to ireland

Hi,
    I am an irish fulltime firefighter , working and living in west ireland (limerick).

If you are interested in an exchange (max 12 months), and you are bringing with you a small family (wife 'n a few kids) then maybe our jobs AND our homes will be compatible.

A few points:
    * The fire dept i work for are solely firefighters NOT paramedics and would be a similar style dept i would need to swop with.

* I live in a fine spacious house and would be hoping to be exchanging into a home that has room for wife, two kids and me.

* I would consider most places (USA and Canada especially), somewhere within reasonable distance to a ski slope would be nice!(not essential) . My wife is from NY upstate and we would go there too(saratoga springs)
    If you like surfing, countryside, easy laidback living, great place for kids, and the odd night out in the town then you will like this place. (also on the doorstep of an airport and cheap flights to many european destinations)

* You need to be fulltime and experienced for at least four years.(this is an exchange rule, not mine)

* I am not looking to exchange right away - prob ready to move 2012, it takes ages (apparently) to organise an exchange among two fire departments - as well as taking kids from school etc etc so i am posting this early.

* you PROBABLY will not have to go through firefighting school again, i am trying to negotiate that your experience will mean you can learn the differences in procedures, scba etc etc, "in-house" and be fully operational in about two weeks (i know that sounds attractive because some exchanged firefighters are expected to go through firefighting school!)