Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Default Pressure Governor

We are in the process of purchasing a new tanker. We are trying to decide on what pressure governor to use. Does anyone have any experience with the Class 1 Total Pressure Governor Plus and or the FRC In Control TGA 300?

Forum Member

We have 5 of the FRC In Control 300s on our lastest trucks, 4 Pumpers with DD,S60 and a Tanker with a C15 Cat, The Governors have worked very well for us

Forum Member

We are happy with our FRC Pump Boss. Sorry, but I can't comment on the Class 1 as I have no experience with it.

I have friends in other departments who are satisfied with later DDEC governors. However, I believe that they are only available on Detroit Diesel engines.

Forum Member

We have only used the DDEC pressure governor over the years. No issues with them.

Forum Member

To answer you question: Not had a great experience with Class 1.

We purchased our first AND LAST pressure governor on a 2001 Pierce. Class 1 made the governor and printed a Pierce label on it. Nothing but trouble since it arrived. Has had multiple software upgrades, a total control head swap out, ect.

Its most recent misbehavior intermittently showing an "Interlink or Interlock" fault code. When it happens, you are dead in the water.

The runaway throttle is also when it sets is also a point of contention.

While we may have just gotten a bad unit, our department has had a "gut full" of this technology. I sure hope everyone else has had the better results than us.

We elected to return to mechanically controlled relief valves and use the FRC Infinity Pro throttle control. No problems with this set up.

C6

Forum Member

FRC Pump Boss PBA400 is my choice. Pretty sweet.

The In Control is more expensive and really not worth it unless you plan on eliminating the traditional master intake and discharge gauges.