Forum Member

Default Air Force FF schedule

Hello everyone I have searched everywhere but I can't find any no-BS answers so I will appreciate any time spent helping me. What is the typical day of an AF firefighter on base? What are deployments like? I have seen videos of AF firefighters in convoys and even in a firefight on youtube.. are they issued weapons and do they leave the wire? Once again thank you to everyone for their time.

-PS- Deployments don't bother me as I was enlisting into the Army Infantry until some unexpected changes in the US government :/ I'm a vollunteer firefighter in Ohio and was looking into the AirForce to help me become a man and give me extra training for when I start applying for a full-time position.

Forum Member

I think the military does a 24/24 schedule. I am not 100% about that, cause I am not in the military, but I think I read somewhere that that is what they work.

One thing to think about, and I am sure that others would say the same thing, don't join the military to get on the job. There are tons of people that got hired without servince (including me). I would say join the military because you want to do it for you. Granted being a service member will give you an extra 5 points on the test but there ware ways to make up for those points. College and certs will look good on the application and will make you stand out in the oral board.

How long have you been a vollunteer?

Forum Member

most work 24 on 24 off with three days offf every other week

some places work different schedules

if you think you are going over seas to war, you might wind up overseas in thule greenland air force base

http://www.peterson.af.mil/units/821stairbase/index.asp

here is a web site:::

http://www.dodfire.com/

http://www.dodfire.net/forum/login.a...get=active.asp

agree with previous poster af does not help that much in getting a job, unless it is federal!!!

they do not fight that much fire/ more aircraft slanted

what state are you in??