Forum Member

Default A Bad discharge and the Fire Service..

Hello Friends!

I'm a Firefighter/EMT for about 4 yrs now (12 yr EMT) and love love love the job. Recently I have had to move to another state (TX) and am looking to test at some departments. I have a Bad Conduct discharge from the Navy, oh about 22 years ago (a lifetime ago). My record is clean besides that damn discharge. I have been looking into different departments and some won't even touch you with that kind of discharge and others say "in the past 5 yrs". And some say nothing at all. It just sickens me. I need a reality check! What are my odds? My time in the service (3yrs) was great until I decided to go party for a month. (bang bang bang, that's me hitting my head against the wall). There's nothing I can do about my discharge now. Just hope, by the grace of God that I can continue my service as a Firefighter. I just got all my certs in line (TCFP structure/EMT) for TX. And am putting in apps. Thanks for your time!!
    Last edited by Alritythen; 03-28-2010 at 11:13 AM.

Forum Member

Default Bad Conduct

Just my two cents...You have a chance. If there is a test and they are giving Vets extra points....your screwed. If you go to your Oral and there are Vets on the panel....your screwed. Overall you are starting with a disadvantage albeit still possible to be hired as a Firefighter. You have a dream and you need to go for it and let "Them" tell you yes or no.
    Respectfully,
    Jay Dudley
    Retired Fire
    Background Investigator
    IACOJ-Member
    Lifetime Member CSFA
    IAFF Alumni Member

Forum Member