Forum Member

Default The Best Oral Board Tool

Voice Recorder — The Miracle Oral Board Tool

I can’t believe how many candidates I talk to in person and on the phone that don’t know how they sound to others. They’re soft spoken, monotone like they’re giving a patient assessment, with no enthusiasm or inflection with a lot of pause fillers. Many are not using a simple tool that could tilt things in their favor.

A recent candidate had such a monotone voice that I asked if he knew. He said, “Yea, but that's just my voice”. I told him I didn't believe that for a second. What can I do about it? I've been testing where I can for four years, going to school and work as a federal firefighter.
    Trying to get on his turf, I asked him what do you do with your time off? What is your interest, hobbies? What really rings your bell? Nothing seemed to work to break his monotone voice.
    That was until a few days later I get a call from an energized candidate. I didn't recognize the voice.

Yes, it was Mr. Monotone. He told me he didn't realize how bad it was until he listened to the recording of our conversation. He said, "Man I sounded retarded. I can't believe how much stuff I left out. How many times I said "What Ever" and other stupid pause fillers I didn't know I was using."
    The mystery of why this super qualified candidate could not get hired was solved by listening to a voice recording of what the panel had been hearing for four years.

So, what tools can you use to practice and rehearse your oral board answers? A video camera? Sure. You need to see how you look in action. But you are trapped with a video camera. A Mirror? Sure standing in front of a mirror is good. But you are missing the most valuable tool of all. A hand-held voice recorder that goes everywhere your car keys go. The closest distance between you and the badge is picking up a voice recorder and hearing what's coming out of your mouth like Mr. Monotone!