Forum Member

Default Why wont the Forest Service hire me?

I am a NWCG FFT1, and B Faller with a contract crew. I Am Also a Volunteer Firefighter and have My first Responder Cert and and A bunch more training in the structure and TC fields. I was told that USFS had to hire A huge number of "new hires" this year. I have applied for everything form Hand Crews and Engines to Fuels crews Within a hundred miles of my NorCal location. I got Only ONE Interest Call and that is all it ever became. How on earth does a person get hired by the USFS?

Forum Member

I know the feeling brotha!! I have all sorts of experience, from a FFI Academy, 4 years Volunteer experience, and a year on an ambulance running some pretty gnarly calls! I applied with the feds this year and I have not heard a THING! I, like you applied for everything (enginge, crew, helitack...). I also have apps in about 10 states with no luck at all. I have heard with the USFS it is more about who you know than what you know, plus they give veterans a job offer before us. I had a captain wanting to give me a job, but for some reason i didnt show up on his GS4 list. There is a million hoops to jump through it seems like. I feel your pain.

Forum Member

trust me you dont want to work for the forest service if you live in norcal. Focus your efforts on Cal Fire. Better work schedule, better work locations, better experience, better supervisors, etc etc. plus better pay and benifits. The FS is the most mismanaged organization in the country.

Forum Member

i would definately have to agree with what you said!! cal fire is where i am lookin now, for all of the above reasons... do you currently work for cal fire slappin joe?

Forum Member